September 1, 2011

Joy to the World, Jersey Style! Rhino Releases ‘A Jersey Boys Christmas Album’ October 4!

September 1st, 2011

JB Christmas Album

Hark the Jersey Angels Sing! We must have all been really, really good this year, because Santa Claus is bringing us the most awesome JERSEY BOYS Christmas surprise next month!

More than five years after its debut, the musical Jersey Boys continues to bring audiences around the world to their feet with the rags-to-riches tale of Frankie Valli and The Four Seasons. A global phenomenon, the record-breaking production has won awards for Best Musical on three continents, including the 2006 Tony® Award, while the platinum-selling Original Cast Recording album won a Grammy® Award for Best Musical Show Album in 2007. To celebrate the holidays, members of the award-winning Jersey Boys casts around the globe have come together to record a selection of Christmas classics in the style of The Four Seasons. This marks the first time that a Broadway show has released a holiday album.

On October 4, Rhino will release SEASON’S GREETINGS: A JERSEY BOYS CHRISTMAS at all physical and digital retail outlets for suggested list prices of $18.98 (CD) and $9.99 (digital).

The album was produced by Bob Gaudio, a founding member of The Four Seasons and the group’s principal songwriter. The musical director and arranger for the project was Ron Melrose, who also arranged music for the Jersey Boys musical. The eclectic album features performances by six stars from the various Jersey Boys casts – Joseph Leo Bwarie (National Tour), Travis Cloer (Las Vegas), Rick Faugno (Las Vegas), Bobby Fox (Australia), Ryan Molloy (London) and Jarrod Spector (Broadway) – plus John Lloyd Young, who won the 2006 Tony Award for his portrayal of Valli in the original Broadway production. The album was engineered by Pete Karam, who won a Grammy for his work on the Original Cast Recording.

Many of the melodies and choral harmonies that catapulted the quartet from the streets of Newark into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame are woven into classic holiday songs on SEASON’S GREETINGS A JERSEY BOYS CHRISTMAS. Listen for hints of “Come On Marianne” and “Oh What A Night” in the album opener “Joy To The World/O Come, O Come, Emmanuel” plus traces of “Bye Bye Baby” in “Winter Wonderland.”

For Jersey Boys’ first Christmas on Broadway in 2006, the cast recorded “O Holy Night” for a Christmas album to benefit Broadway charities. This album features a new version of the song with a fresh arrangement that includes lines from the spiritual, “Rise Up, Shepherd.” Other highlights from A JERSEY BOYS CHRISTMAS include a doo-wop version of “White Christmas” inspired by The Drifters and “Santa Medley,” which infuses signature Jersey Boys harmonies into a trio of holiday favorites. Also featured is a unique version of “Angels From The Realms Of Glory” filtered through ’80s synth-rock with a touch of Beethoven’s “Ninth Symphony” thrown in for good measure.

For full details and the track listing of this fantastic new release, click HERE and to pre-order, you can click HERE.


  1. This sounds like a spectacular project. Looking forward to receiving the Jersey Boys Xmas CD in October.

    Comment by Paul — September 1, 2011 @ 9:03 pm

  2. In my house, we won’t be waiting until December to play this new holiday album! This is awesome news for this Jersey girl!

    Comment by LizG — September 1, 2011 @ 9:05 pm

  3. Thank you for including the amazing Ryan Molloy on the upcoming Christmas album. Ryan’s London fans are very excited for this recording!

    Comment by RG — September 1, 2011 @ 9:10 pm

  4. How cool will this be, with all those current fantastic Frankies, plus John Lloyd Young? Any chance of a holiday TV special with this great group of guys?

    Comment by Jan — September 2, 2011 @ 8:11 am

  5. I’m so looking forward to this! Christmas comes early this year!

    Comment by Krystal — September 2, 2011 @ 8:25 am

  6. What fun! I’ve already pre-ordered mine. Christmas will come in October for me!

    Comment by Shelley — September 2, 2011 @ 11:59 am

  7. October 4th is taking forever to get here! I can’t wait for the postman to bring this CD! Wonder if any of the cast will be on TV during the holidays performing & promoting the recording? Maybe on the Thanksgiving Day Parade? Hope so!!

    Comment by Rebecca — September 8, 2011 @ 11:43 pm

  8. My wife & I are really looking forward to the Christmas album. Good idea about the TV appearances, Rebecca & Jan. Here’s what I was thinking: Maybe during the holiday season, the cast could do a short rendition of one of the songs on the new CD after the “Oh, What a Night” reprise?

    Comment by Don — September 9, 2011 @ 2:30 pm

RSS feed for comments on this post. | TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment