April 11, 2006

Jersey Boys Will Be Co-Chairs at Drama League Event

April 11th, 2006

Broadwayworld.com News Desk reports that Jersey Boys’ Christian Hoff, Daniel Reichard, J. Robert Spencer and John Lloyd Young will serve as will serve as honorary co-chairs, along with other Broadway stars including LaChanze (The Color Purple), Cyndi Lauper (The Threepenny Opera), Cynthia Nixon (Rabbit Hole), Paul Rudd (Three Days of Rain), and David Schwimmer (The Caine Munity Court-Martial) for The 72nd Annual Drama League Awards Ceremony and Luncheon on Friday, May 5, 2006 (12 p.m.) at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in Times Square. The event will be hosted by Alan Cumming (The Threepenny Opera).

This event, considered the theatre season’s most festive award ceremony, will feature approximately 60 stars from the 2005-2006 Broadway and Off-Broadway season, including the honorary co-chairs. The Drama League’s 3,000 members vote on five awards: Distinguished Performance Award; Distinguished Production of a Play; Distinguished Production of a Musical; Distinguished Revival of a Play, and Distinguished Revival of a Musical. Nominations for these awards will be announced on Wednesday, April 19.

More exiting news for Jersey Boys! Director Des McAnuff will be honored with the Julia Hansen Award for Excellence in Directing.

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. | TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment